The Open Heart Connection

I find myself, through these writings and with you, exploring what it is to have an open heart, to live with a heart open to the world, open to possibility, open to hurt, open to feeling all manner of things, open to connecting with another person, with a moment in time, with ourselves. And then today I came across this from the marvelous Terri St. Cloud who is Bone Sigh Arts:

My word. I saw that, read that, felt that, and my heart did a little happy dance of gratitude. No, more like a deep bow of gratitude to the Universe and to God. “Strength lies in the opening of the heart…” (Terri St. Cloud)

This resonates so deeply with me, not only because of this journey I’m on but also because it makes so clear that having an open heart isn’t all sunshine and roses and ease and smiles. It can be, of course. The opening of the heart hopefully often will lead to great joy and genuine compassion and connection. But it may be really, really hard before it gets to that point. It takes great strength to open your heart and go to those places. It takes courage. It might mean riots in your soul.

I’ve never been good at confrontation. I don’t like it. I’d gladly go around the block to avoid confrontation. But I am learning that part of having an open heart means staying right there in the Thick of It, whatever It is in that moment, and showing up to my life and to the connection even if the connection is really hard.

I’m not saying that I believe we always have to go into the fray to have an open heart. Indeed, sometimes the path to opening your heart is to step back and let be. Sometimes the path is to just be present for someone else or for yourself, listening to what they need from you, not necessarily what you might want to give. The opening of the heart can take on so many forms, and I find that wonderful. An open heart is an invitation to see where life may lead us.

So. Here we are in this together, and I am so grateful. “Strength lies in the opening of the heart…” Amen, and yes.

 

 

7 thoughts on “The Open Heart Connection

  1. can’t thank you enough for posting my art/link and sharing me. truly. it helps to have people do that. but i guess what feels even better than that is that you ‘get it.’ that’s one of my favorite bone sighs because of how much is held in that one sentence. and the struggle to open that heart sometimes takes the muscles of hercules. it’s so nice to know other people are workin’ at it too! thank you…..

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sometimes, not often, but sometimes there are places and people you stumble upon that your soul just kind of vibrates and says “ahhhh, THERE you are….hello! Namaste…and homesweethome.” You, this blog, Bone Sigh Arts and Terri St. Cloud are in that category now. Utterly random, and recognized. Thank you!

    Like

I'd like to hear from you.

